Dean's Distinguished Alumnus Award

The award was established in 1973 to recognize College of Medicine graduates who have demonstrated exceptional achievement and contributions to medicine through patient care, research, education, health administration and/or other forms of leadership and service.

We are pleased to announce that James Suen, M.D. '66 has been selected as the 2017 Dean's Distinguished Alumnus.  Executive Vice Chancellor and Dean Pope L. Moseley, MD presented the award at the College of Medicine Dean’s Luncheon and Recognition Ceremony during Alumni Weekend, Saturday, August 19, 2017.

The honoree will also be recognized on the College of Medicine website, joining 43 previous recipients.

2017 Call for Entries

Selection Criteria
  • Widely recognized accomplishments in clinical care, research, teaching, health administration and/or other forms of leadership and service in medicine
  • Long-term service to Arkansans or others
  • Character representing the ideals and values of UAMS
  • Demonstrated interest and support for the College of Medicine
  • Awardees may be active in their career or retired
Nomination Packet

Nomination packets must have included the following:

  • Nomination Form
  • Nominee’s resume or CV
  • Nominating letter (describing in detail how  the candidate reflects some or all of the selection criteria

Letters of support and additional materials regarding a nominee were welcome.

James Y. Suen, M.D.

College of Medicine 2017 Dean's Distinguished Alumnus

Dr. Suen is a distinguished professor in the Department of Otolaryngology at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. He has co-edited seven medical textbooks which are used worldwide and over 150 journal articles and book chapters. He has been listed in every edition of the Best Doctors in America, America’s Top Doctors for Cancers, and Top Surgeons in the United States. He ia past president of the American Head and Neck Society and was awarded the Distinguished Alumnus Award by M.D. Anderson Cancer Center in 1995. He was the personal physician for President William Clinton during his presidency. He presently is the chair holder of the Patricia and J. Floyd Kyser, M.D. Endowed Chair in Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery.